Which are the most popular cricket leagues in India?

Top 10 best cosmetic brands in India

Festivals and occasions always bring happiness along with the mood of shopping. Every outfit is numb without a perfect touch of makeup...

DRAUPADI & KARNA – The Forbidden Love ?

We know Mahabharata is one of the greatest scriptures of Hindu mythology but it is also the longest poem ever written containing about 100,000...

10 Countries That Are Impossible To Invade

Ever since ancient times, man has fought ardently to establish his supremacy. Man is a highly competitive, extremely narcissistic, and dangerously territorial...

12 most rated romantic movies of Hollywood

Movies are never out of trend, especially when you have a partner and he is also as romantic as you are. There...


Rabindranath Tagore was a man with many talents. He was famously known as ‘Gurudev’ (Master Teacher), ‘Kabiguru’ (Master Poet) and ‘Bishwakabi’ (World Poet). ...

The most watched and popular sport in India is Cricket. Britishers brought cricket in India during their colonial rule. Check about the overview of cricket betting sites in India. The Parsi community has started the first cricket club in Bombay named as Oriental Cricket Club. Since then, the popularity of cricket has increased in the country, and it became the most popular sport in India. Cricket exists in the heart of Indians. The Indian cricket fans love not only international tournaments, but even they put their interest in the domestic leagues also. Many of the local cricket leagues are popular in India. We have listed the top 5 leagues of Indian cricket that loves by the cricket fans.

  • Indian Premier League: – No doubt to rank IPL in the first position. The popularity and fan following of IPL are not only in India; it is the biggest cricket league in the world. The association was started in the year 2008 after the first world t20 world cup tournament won by India. IPL revolutionized not only cricket but also the sports industry of India. The total worth of IPL is $4.16 billion. It provides the youngest players to play and learn with the most popular cricketers of the whole world. Chennai Super Kings and Mumbai Indians are the two successful teams of IPL. Mahendra Singh Dhoni leading the Chennai team and has won the IPL trophy three times.
  • RANJHI TROPHY: – The tournament named after the prince of Nawanagar, Ranjitsinhji in the year 1934-35. Currently, 37 teams are representing their regional and state cricket association in this league. Since the tournament started, it got many changes in format. The league was launched as the zonal competition and changed to a two-tier league. The 37 teams of the tournament gas separated into elite groups named as group A, B, C, and plate group. Each group has nine teams; only the C group has ten teams. Mumbai team is the most successful team with 15 consecutive victories. Ranjhi Trophy league is one of the best options for BCCI to select the new players for international matches of the Indian cricket team.
  • Deodhar Trophy: – The tournament was named after the Grand Old Man of the Indian Cricket team, Dinkar Balwant Deodhar, and it was introduced in 1973-74 season. A listed match was started as the zonal tournament. The north zone team is the most successful team with 13 victories, and the 46th edition of the match is going to start. Most of the players of Indian cricket teams are selected from this tournament. BCCI always keep an eye on this tournament to pick the best player for international matches.  
  • Duleep Trophy: – The first-class domestic cricket league was named after the Kumar Shri Duleepsinhji of Nawanagar and contested by the teams who represent their geographical zones. The tournament has got few changes recently in the year 2015-16. Now the BCCI selects the players to play in the tournament for three teams includes India red, India blue, and India green. The format of the tournament also shifts from knockout to tri-series will precede under floodlights. Dinesh Kartik has led the India red team in the year 2017-18 and won the trophy of this tournament.
  • Vijay Hazare Trophy: – The tournament follows the Duleep award was named after the great Indian batsman Vijay Hazare. The league was started in 2002-03. In the 2004-05 season the league started to follow a full final series, including semi-finals and final match. Tamil Naidu is the most successful team with five victories, and the last winning team was the Karnataka team led by Karun Nair. In the next season, 28 different teams will go to play 160 matches of the league. 

Conclusion:- Here are the top 5 cricket leagues of India. BCCI organize these all leagues and select the best players for international matches. Many of the famous Indian cricketers have started their careers by playing these domestic cricket leagues. Mahendra Singh Dhoni, Yuvraj Singh, Sachin Tendulkar,  Saurav Ganguly, Virender Sehwag are some famous faces of the Indian cricket team that started the journey from domestic cricket leagues.  

Related Articles

Allison Stokke – Rising Like A Phoenix from the Ashes.

It's been a good ten years since the photo of award-winning pole vaulter Allison Stokke went viral. Read more on her early life, achievements, present life.

Recent Cricket news and updates from around the world

Sports lovers enjoy following updates concerning their area of interest. They have to keep track of all events happening, happened, or due...

Top Mobile Games in India

Those of you who remember the 1980s and 1990s, probably know how video games had a bad reputation. They were considered to...


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Top 10 Love Stories by Indian Authors One must Read

India is a country where people love to read “love stories”. There are a number of souls who like a romantic Shahrukh’s...

Know about wavy hair for girls

Everybody has a different quality of hair. Nobody is got to the same texture, length or quality as of others. People with...

Jaisalmer- keeping life in the forts of Rajasthan

Jaisalmer, often known as the golden city of Rajasthan, lies in the mid of the state’s heart. It is so-called as all...

Megan Fox: Personal Life, Career, Movies and More.

Shooting to fame because of her timeless beauty and charm, Megan Fox still remains Hollywood's sex symbol till date. More on her views and career here.

Timothee Chalamet: Personal Life, Career and More.

Read all about the third youngest Academy Award nominee in the history of the Academy Awards, Timothee Chalamet, right here.